## **MINUTES** OF THE SPECIAL MEETING OF THE DESERT WATER AGENCY BOARD OF DIRECTORS

## February 19, 2019

DWA Board	: Joseph K. Stuart, President Kristin Bloomer, Vice President Craig A. Ewing, Secretary-Treasurer Patricia G. Oygar, Director	Attendance )
	James Cioffi, Director	)
DWA Staff:	Mark S. Krause, General Manager Steve Johnson, Asst. General Manager Sylvia Baca, Asst. Secretary of the Board Ashley Metzger, Outreach & Conserv. Mgr. Vicki Petek, Outreach & Conserv. Associate Kory Knox, Info. Systems Administrator Daniel Ballesteros, PC Support Tech. 1 Dan Camarena, PC Support Tech. 1	) ) ) ) )
Consultant:	Michael T. Riddell, Best Best & Krieger	)
Public:	Karl Baker, Jr., Desert Hot Springs resident Ronald Gilbert, Desert Hot Springs resident Jessica Gilbert, Desert Hot Springs resident Ed Molloy, Desert Hot Springs resident Ivan & Breana Sewell, MSWD & DHS resident Russ & Florence Martin, MSWD & DHS resident Nancy Wright, MSWD and DHS resident Estela Rojas, Desert Hot Springs resident Yvonne Parks, Desert Edge resident Dorothy Warren, Desert Edge resident	) ) ) ) ) ) ) ) ) )
18364.	President Stuart opened the special meeting at 5:30 p.m.	n. and Pledge of Alleg

iance asked everyone to join Secretary-Treasurer Ewing in the Pledge of Allegiance.

18365. General Manager Krause provided a PowerPoint presentation Presentation showing DWA's boundaries, current voting in Desert Hot Springs, Groundwater replenishment, existing retail service area, population by area and the 2010 Census population.

Agency Counsel Riddell discussed the Agency's history and the California Voting Rights Act (CVRA). Mr. Riddell explained that tonight is the second Public Hearing and is intended to solicit the public's input on proposing the Agency's five divisions.

Presentation (Cont.)

Outreach & Conservation Manager Metzger explained the difference between At-large elections (current DWA process) and Elections by division. She noted the importance of public input during the transition process and the possibility of adopting a map by the end of summer. She announced that the video from the previous public hearing, the PowerPoint presentation and FAQ's are available on the Agency's website at: www.dwa.org/divisions.

18366. President Stuart opened the meeting for public comment. **Public Comment** 

Karl Baker, Jr. spoke in support of district elections. He stated Karl Baker, Jr. the demographer's map presented at the February 5 meeting does not accurately show the population for Desert Hot Springs and suggested incorporating future growth. He also suggested having two Board Members represent Desert Hot Springs.

Nancy Wright concurred with Mr. Baker on the need to include Nancy Wright future growth. She then asked how unincorporated areas will be included and whether changes can be made once maps are drawn.

Estela Rojas, representing Agua Warriors, spoke in support of having two Board Members represent Desert Hot Springs.

Estela Rojas

There being no one else from the public wishing to address the Board, President Stuart closed the public comment period.

18367. At 6:00 p.m., President Stuart opened the Public Hearing and Open Public Hearing invited those interested in speaking to come to the podium.

Yvonne Parks suggested the East and North side of Desert Hot Springs as two division boundaries.

Karl Baker, Jr. suggested East of Palm Drive and NorthWest of Pierson as two division boundaries. He discussed future developments within the City of Desert Hot Springs.

Nancy Wright suggested the Agency consider MSWD's Urban Water Management Plan, Sewer Master Plan and Water Infrastructure Master Plan when drawing the maps.

There being no one else from the public wishing to speak, President Stuart closed the Public Hearing at 6:06 p.m. He thanked those in attendance for participating and noted this was the second Public Hearing.

He noted the Agency's webpage for updates and future Adjournment meetings, www.dwa.org/divisions.

18368. In the absence of any further business, President Stuart adjourned the meeting at 6:07 p.m.

Joseph K. Stuart, President

ATTEST:

Craig Ewing, Secretary-Treasurer